Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Senior Secondary Portal navigation

You are here:

  • Home
  • News
  • Secondary principals receive leadership awards

Secondary principals receive leadership awards

Nicola Ngarewa.

Two first-time secondary school principals have been honoured among the recipients of this year’s Sir Peter Blake Trust Leadership Awards. Louise Anaru, leader of Flaxmere College, and Nicola Ngarewa, principal of Tamatea High School, both received the awards for their ability to transform the attitudes and achievements of their students. Louise Anaru focuses on leadership and quality of teaching to engage her students, and works with the community to develop and fulfill a shared vision for the school. Nicola Ngarewa has high expectations for her students, and has proven that a positive culture can breed success for students irrespective of a school's decile scale. Find out more.